A Wife Loved Like The Church

Mouth watering Poppy Seed Chicken

Posted on: July 13, 2010

My dear readers, you are in for a special treat. I’ve decided to share my all time favorite family recipe with you: Poppy Seed Chicken. {You know it’s a fabulous recipe when it’s featured in Southern Living.} My recipe varies slightly from SL so if you want the exact “mama’s way” recipe, you’ll need to follow theirs. Otherwise, I’ll give you mine.

What you need:

2-3 cups chicken, cut up

1 can cream of chicken {or cream of mushroom}

1 8 oz sour cream

1/2 roll Ritz crackers

2-3 tablespoons poppy seeds

Boil chicken until complete. I typically use boneless, skinless chicken breast, but finding cheap-ish free range chicken breast just isn’t easy. So, this go round I opted for a variation of bone-in breast and thighs that are free-range. If you do that, you’ll need to boil, then peel off the skin and de-bone.

Mix together chicken, cream soup, poppy seeds and sour cream:

Wanna know a secret? I use two cans of cream soup – one cream of chicken and one cream of mushroom. Why? Helps make the dish go further.

Wanna know an even crazier secret? This time I used plain yogurt instead of sour cream:

I had everything ready to go for making dinner, opened the refrigerator to grab the sour cream and…. we had no sour cream. Perfect. I went out on a limb and tossed in plain yogurt {since I have always heard you could substitute it for sour cream}. In the end, it had a slightly different taste, but if you had never had poppy seed chicken before, I doubt you’d notice the difference.

Put your mix in a cooking dish and spread with chopped up Ritz crackers and poppy seeds.

Here’s the end result:

Bake at 350 for 20-30 minutes, or until golden and bubbly.

Our standard poppy seed dish is served with potatoes, veggies and bread. You can make the dish ahead of time {morning of or night before} and leave it in the fridge until you’re ready to cook it. It’s an easy dish that is a wonderfully yummy comfort food!

11 Responses to "Mouth watering Poppy Seed Chicken"

Oooh, I bet it would be fabulous if you roasted the chicken instead of boiling it…

Alicia, I came th-is close to roasting the chicken! But I figured I was already trying something new with the yogurt and didn’t want to totally throw my family for a loop! 🙂 Next time I’m all over it.

The original recipe came from my friend Marlene Newmark in the 80s when we lived in St. Louis, I shared with your Mom and the rest is history…Haven’t made it in years, but seems like we layered it…bon appetit

oh yeah we make this one all the time! love it!

I love poppyseed chicken!! Thanks!

Haven’t ever made this but can’t wait to try, thanks for sharing!

Emily Malone gave me this one and I just LOVE it! It is easy and tasty, but I just wish it were healthier! The yogurt does help though, I am sure!

I was spurred on to thaw some chicken and try this recipe. Per usual, I have to make some changes. I have to keep dairy at a minimum for us, so used lite cream of chicken soup, a can of mushrooms, and then a mix of cheese and wheat soda crax, with about 2 T of oleo, to keep the calories a bit lower. It wasn’t ready when Steve came home, so he had a couple quick chicken patties because he was pretty hungry. However, when I served up some casserole for me, he wanted to try it, and you guessed it, he really liked my adapted version of poppy seed chicken! He got his protein in for the day!! 🙂 Anyway, it probably wasn’t as yummy, but it was moist and that is the way my hubby likes his chicken!! Thanks! I was needing some new menu ideas!! I need you to teach me some of your other great recipes!

This looks so good, I linked to it on my saturday stumbles. But I have no idea where to find poppy seeds?!

[…] I’ll be celebrating with a pancake breakfast, my favorite birthday dinner {poppy seed chicken}, spending gobbles of time with my wonderful family, enjoying a free dinner at Applebee’s and […]

Leave a comment